Skip to main content
Philippine Standard Time: 18 May 2024, 10:30 PM
Philippines, PH
10:30 pm, May 18, 2024
temperature icon 30°C
Humidity: 69 %
Pressure Pressure: 1008 mb
Wind Wind: 4 mph
Wind Gust Wind Gust: 5 mph
Clouds Clouds: 64%
Visibility Visibility: 0 km
Sunrise Sunrise: 5:26 am
Sunset Sunset: 6:11 pm


Asturias was formerly a village of Balamban. It was Don Eugenio Alonzo, known to many as Captain Genio, who conceived and worked for the people of two barrios of Naghalin and Bagacawa (now Sta. Lucia) petition for the conversion of the two populous territorial parts of Balamban into a separate municipality. On February 8, 1871, the petition was approved by the Insular Spanish constituted authorities in Manila. The name Asturias was given in honor of Asturias, a province in Spain.
The original name of Asturias is Naghalin, perhaps from the word lalin, a native Cebuano term for settlers coming from far places. Other authorities say that “Naghalin” is a mispronunciation of the Cebuano word naghaling which means “making fire” as preparation for cooking. This assertion is supported by the old name of an adjacent municipality, “Bagacawa” (now known as Tuburan), which means “fiery cauldron” from the Cebuano Baga (ember) and kawa (cauldron).
The first occupants of Asturias came from other places and neighboring islands such as Negros and Bohol. At first, one part of Naghalin was Tuburan, and the other part of Balamban. Over time, the population of Naghalin increased because of immigration and natural population growth. Eventually, the inhabitants petitioned Spain to grant them their local government. This petition was granted in the late 19th century by Spain, thereby creating the pueblo (region) of Asturias. This event was witnessed by the arrival in 1888 of the alférez, Antonio Alonso, uncle of José Rizal.
Skip to content